Preaching for Beating?

So, Krystal really wants me to start a “I read OneNewsNow so you don’t have to” deal or whatever. The thing is, I don’t. I read OneNewsNow because I apparently hate myself and like hitting things (ok, not really, but almost). And I don’t have the time patience to actually pick apart everything OneNewsNow reports for us.

But, today, I must respond to this. Apparently, these supposed “hate crimes” are tricksy and bad for you! (Note, OneNewsNow has this thing with parenthesizing whatever it likes to pretend is fake- i.e., “homosexual ‘marriage.'”) Anyway, this is what I find here: Andrea Lafferty of the Traditional Values Coalition wants to make sure you’re aware that the government will lock up your pastor if you beat up homosexuals! (Second note: OnesNewsNow and various other anti-gay groups never talk about “gays” and “lesbians,” they instead like to focus on sexual actions and always say “homosexual.”) But back again… This is what will happen! Your pastor will say something like, “We believe the Bible and we do not believe homosexuality is part of God’s perfect plan.” So, then, you, the hearer of your pastor’s message, will go out and, you know, kill some gay people. Perfect response to that message. AND THEN THE GOVERNMENT WILL PUT YOUR PASTOR IN JAIL.

Except not at all. (This is the point at which my head is about to explode from OneNewsNow-ism.) I have no idea how the ONN people came up with this. Their link makes no sense. Anyone who commits a hate crime against a gay person and then attributes his or her actions to some pastor’s talk about not accepting gays is simply an idiot. There’s no argument. Some white dude can’t kill a black dude and then have his racist grandpa sent to jail for the crime. Seriously. This isn’t news. It’s bullshit.

As an aside on your religion not accepting gays or lesbians or transgendered people, Jesus (I guess he’s the biggest target) never said anything about beating up your “enemies.” And, again, the Bible talks about him hanging out with such “sinners.” And, he didn’t tell them he hated them or was politically seeking their ruin or knew about their plan to wreck the “traditional” family. No. None of that.

And, that’s why I can’t read OneNewsNow for anyone. There’s nothing there but nonsensical fear of people who are different than you.

Leave a comment